Frank Albinder, Music Director

Frank Albinder came to Washington, DC in 1999 to become music director of the Washington Men’s Camerata. In 2000, he became Music Director of the Woodley Ensemble, a professional chamber choir also based in Washington. He has been the conductor of the Virginia Glee Club at the University of Virginia since 2003. Frank came to Washington from the internationally renowned male vocal ensemble Chanticleer, where he most recently served as the group’s Associate Conductor in addition to singing with the ensemble. During his 11-year tenure with Chanticleer, Frank performed in all 50 states and in 20 foreign countries. He appears on 21 of the ensemble’s recordings, including Wondrous Love, which was recorded under his direction, and the Grammy® Award-winning Colors of Love, for which he designed the concept. Other performance credits include the Boston Camerata, the Robert Shaw Festival Singers, the Washington Bach Consort, and the Concord Ensemble. He holds a B.A. in Vocal Performance from Pomona College in Claremont, California, and two M.M. degrees (Choral Conducting and Vocal Performance) from the New England Conservatory of Music in Boston. Between 1984 and 1988, Frank was Director of Choral Activities at Davidson College in North Carolina. In addition to serving as president of Intercollegiate Men’s Choruses, he served two terms as National Chair of Repertoire and Standards for Male Choruses for the American Choral Director’s Association. He is also a board member of the National Collegiate Choral Organization and a steering committee member of, the Internet’s principal portal for information and resources relating to the choral field. He recently retired after twelve years as part of the professional music staff at St. John’s Church, Lafayette Square, the Church of the Presidents.

Administration of the WMC
  • Frank Albinder, Music Director
  • Scott Tucker, Guest Director
  • Bob McKinless, Librarian Emeritus
  • Matt Sommers, Librarian
  • Lawrence Reppert, Managing Director
Board of Directors
  • Luis Ferran, President
  • Robert Harris, Vice President
  • Nick Schacht, Treasurer
  • Stan Watters, Secretary
  • Robert Harris
  • Doug Loescher
  • Shea Murphy
  • Nelson Smith
  • Brad Spencer
  • Scott Tousley
Advisory Board
  • Richard Dirksen
  • Tom Hall
  • Rosa Lamoreaux
  • John Liepold
  • Mark Ohnmacht
  • Samuel Audiway Peal
  • David Petrou
  • Malcolm Rowat ±
  • Norman Scribner ±

± deceased